Subscribe for scholarship alert.
Be among the first to know whenever new African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO) scholarship is going on.

African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO) Scholarships

      • ARIPO Young Professionals Programme 2023

      • The African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO) invites applications from graduates of its Member States for a two-year Young Professionals Programme (YPP), at the 
View All Ongoing Scholarships 2023
Share this scholarship page to your friends

The African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO), formerly African Regional Industrial Property Organization, is an intergovernmental organization for cooperation among African states in patent and other intellectual property matters. ARIPO was established by the Lusaka Agreement of 1976. It has the capacity to hear applications for patents and registered trademarks in its member states who are parties to the Harare (patents), Banjul (marks) and Arusha (plant varieties) protocols.[1] ARIPO also features a protocol on the protection of traditional knowledge, the Swakopmund Protocol,signed in 2010 by 9 member states of the organization which entered into force on May 11, 2015, and was amended on December 6, 2016.

ARIPO has the WIPO ST.3 code AP. Its 19 member states are mostly English-speaking countries. Rwanda became the 18th member state on March 24, 2010,[3][4] and São Tomé and Príncipe on May 19, 2014 (the Harare Protocol entered into force on August 19, 2014 with respect to São Tomé and Príncipe).[5] Seychelles became a member State of ARIPO on 1 January 2022.